Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Ah, the beginning of not just a new week, but a new year! Do you make a resolutions? What are they? I don’t really do resolutions. I almost always never keep them. However, I do enjoy the Goodreads’ Reading Challenge. Unfortunately, with the move and my classes and my lackluster desire to keep my Goodreads account updated, I only have logged half of what I had planned on reading. It still wasn’t a bad showing, I read 30 of the 52 I was aiming for, but definitely not as good as 2015 when I read 54 books. Since this year is shaping up to be a busy one already, I believe I’m going to drop my goal to one book every other week. I’m almost positive I’ll read more than that but it takes a bit of the pressure off, you know?

So to start off this 2017 Book Reading Challenge, I’m reading my Book Club’s January pick – Letters to the Lost by Iona Grey. I’m excited for numerous reasons: 1) Because this is one I suggested; 2) I have a mild fascination with WWII; and 3) It has an American Airman involved and I sort of have a soft spot for Airmen. Yeah, yeah, the other branch are awesome and all, but come on! There’s just something about a Flyboy….. Anywho, here’s what the back cover

says:

Late on a frozen February evening, a young woman is running through the streets of London. Having fled from her abusive boyfriend and with nowhere to go, Jess stumbles onto a forgotten lane where a small, clearly vacant old house offers her the best chance of shelter for the night. The next morning, a mysterious letter arrives and when she can’t help but open it, she finds herself drawn inexorably into the story of two lovers from another time.

letters-to-the-lost

In London 1943, Stella meets Dan, a U.S. Airman, quite by accident, but there is no denying the impossible, unstoppable attraction that draws them together. Dan is a B-17 pilot flying his bomber into Europe from a British airbase; his odds of survival are one in five. In the midst of such uncertainty, the one thing they hold onto is the letters they write to each other. Fate is unkind and they are separated by decades and continents.

In the present, Jess becomes determined to find out what happened to them. Her hope – inspired by a love so powerful it spans a lifetime – will lead her to find a startling redemption in her own life in this powerfully moving novel perfect for fans of Kate Morton and The Postmistress.

I can completely see this being a tear-jerker! So since I hate doing the “ugly cry” in front of anyone, this will probably be one that I read one afternoon when I’m home alone.

What are your reading plans for this first week of January?

Advertisements