Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This week I’m going back to my favorite subject… Angels! Fallen, Nephilim, Guardian… I don’t care. If they’re in a story, I’m more than likely going to pick it up. With ‘Unearthly’, I’m guessing there is some YA romance based on the reviews I’ve seen but the main body of the plot centers around a girl, Clara Gardner, discovering that she’s Nephilim and has a destiny to fulfill. Not a completely original baseline but I’ve read enough to know that that doesn’t mean the author can’t make it their own with creativity. Goodreads has ‘Unearthly’ rating at 4.0 out of 5.0 Stars and Amazon shows it as 4.5 out of 5.0 Stars, so I have high hopes that Ms. Hand can deliver. Besides, this cover is ah-mazing! It reminds me of the ‘Caster Chronicles’ cover. Eek!

unearthly-cynthia-hand

In the beginning, there’s a boy standing in the trees. He’s around my age, in that space between child and man, maybe all of seventeen years old. I’m not sure how I know this, I can only see the back of his head, his dark hair curling damply against his neck. There’s a strange orange light filling the eastern sky. There’s the heavy smell of smoke. I take a step toward the boy and the ground crunches under my feet. He hears me. He starts to turn. One more second and I will see his face. That’s when the vision leaves me. I blink, and it’s gone.

Clara Gardner has recently learned that she’s part angel. Having angel blood run through her veins not only makes her smarter, stronger, and faster than humans (a word, she realizes, that no longer applies to her), but it means she has a purpose, something she was put on this earth to do. Figuring out what that is, though, isn’t easy.

Her visions of a raging forest fire and an alluring stranger lead her to a new school in a new town. When she meets Christian, who turns out to be the boy of her dreams (literally), everything seems to fall into place – and out of place at the same time. Because there’s another guy, Tucker, who appeals to Clara’s less angelic side.

As Clara tries to find her way in a world she no longer understands, she encounters unseen dangers and choices she never thought she’d have to make – between honesty and deceit, love and duty, good and evil. When the fire from her vision finally ignites, will Clara be ready to face her destiny?

Unearthly is a moving tale of love and fate, and the struggle between following the rules and following your heart.

So what do you think? Have you read this one yet? Have you read the series? Or are you experiencing it for the first time like I am?

P.S. Doesn’t that girl on the cover look like God’s Sister, Amara (a.k.a The Darkness), on Supernatural?

