Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Welcome to the September Edition of Book Bag! A bit late but the last couple weeks have been kicking my butt! I think I’m going to take a note from all my favorite bloggers and actually make myself a schedule. There’s already a running list of places I want to tell you about and stories that need to be discussed. I’ve got so much to share with you all but for now, this one is all about the books!

img_20160928_173704

Looking at the picture above of my newest finds, I’m wondering if I was subconsciously going through a blue phase in September. This seriously wasn’t on purpose, however I am liking the theme. Maybe I should continue it? I suppose monochrome choices are what happens when I have a coupon to burn and no real titles in mind. Well, correction, I did have a BUNCH of titles in mind but none that fit my budget at the time. C’est la vie! All in all though, I’m quite pleased with my picks. So without further adieu, let me introduce you to them.

This Is My Brain on Boys by Sarah Strohmeyer

Jane Austen’s Emma meets The Rosie Project in this quirky, irresistible, romantic comedy from Sarah Strohmeyer, the author of Smart Girls Get What They Want.

Addie Emerson doesn’t believe in love. Not for herself anyway. With one year left of high school, she’s more interested in snagging a full scholarship to Harvard than a full-time boyfriend.

That doesn’t mean she’s oblivious to the ways of the heart. Or, rather, the head. Because after months of research, Addie has discovered how to make anyone fall in love. All you need is the secret formula.

But will her discovery be enough to win the coveted Athenian Award and all its perks? (See above, full scholarship to Harvard.) Or will she be undone by Dexter, her backstabbing lab partner, who is determined to deep-six her experiments at their exclusive private school?

Those are the least of her problems now that she’s survived a death-defying flight with a mysterious, dark-haired boy, who has delicious chocolate-brown eyes and a few secrets of his own.

With an experiment to mastermind, an infatuated exchange student on her hands, and at least one great white shark (more on that later), can Addie’s prefrontal cortex outwit her heart? Or will she have to give in to her amygdala and find out, once and for all, if this thing called love is more than just her brain on drugs?

Okay so #1, I LOVED ‘The Rosie Project’! Pure genius. #2, I’ve been jonesing for a sweet, Rom-Com type of story. Think ‘Fangirl’ or ‘Cinder and Ella’. One with lots of laughs and a few “awes” thrown in too. Based on the description, this one totally seems to fit the bill. I just hope it stands up to that totally awesome description! Either way, isn’t that cover absolutely adorable?!

Dividing Line 2

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan’s life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school…or at home.

When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she’s known is about to change.

But she could never have guessed the truth—that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she’ll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil no faery creature dare face…and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.

If you haven’t had a chance to read Ms. Kagawa’s ‘Talon’ series, I highly recommend it! I did a review for the first book in that series a while back and it can be found here. Julie Kagawa is a beyond talented YA writer and I loved the way she mixes real world with fantasy. Her covers are gorgeous and the characters are really real. When I heard she also had another series about Fae, it instantly went on my TBR list.

Dividing Line 2

Wherever You Go by Heather Davis

Seventeen-year-old Holly Mullen has felt lost and lonely ever since her boyfriend, Rob, died in a tragic accident. The fact that she has to spend most of her free time caring for her little sister and Alzheimer’s-stricken grandfather doesn’t help. But Holly has no idea that as she goes about her days, Rob’s ghost is watching over her. He isn’t happy when he sees his best friend, Jason, reach out to help Holly with her grandfather—but as a ghost, he can do nothing to stop it. Is his best friend really falling for his girlfriend?

As Holly wonders whether to open her heart to Jason, the past comes back to haunt her. Her grandfather claims to be communicating with the ghost of Rob. Could the messages he has for Holly be real? And if so, how can the loved ones Rob left behind help his tortured soul make it to the other side?

Told from the perspectives of Holly, Jason, and Rob, Wherever You Go is is a poignant story about making peace with the past, opening your heart to love, and finding the courage to move forward into the light.

To be honest, I usually don’t like stories where someone’s love has died and now they have to find a way to live again. I much prefer happy stories to ones that break my heart. However, when I picked this one up, I was just coming off ‘Where She Went’ by Gayle Forman. This is possibly where the whole blue theme originated. Anyway, alternating perspectives are really big right now and it could be interesting to see how Ms. Davis handles a grieving over-stressed young woman, an apparently slightly jealous dead boyfriend, and a young man with what one would assume are difficult mixed feelings. I believe this will either be amazing or a total flop. Let’s pray it’s the first option.

Dividing Line 2

So there you have it! Those are the newest books to be added to my shelf in September. Which one do you think I should start reading first? Have you read any of these titles? What would you suggest I check out for October?

