Tags

, ,

This week, I’ve sort of been all over the place! Mostly, it’s been inside places due to the rain – NOT what someone like me enjoys. Oh well, at least it appears to have cleared out for a short time and I can take advantage of some local sites. Just like last week (and really, any week), music is somewhere in my life. So without further adieu, here’s my collection of songs for this week:


1) Work This Body by Walk the Moon

This week I decided to be serious about getting in shape. Something happened when I hit 30 and all those Girl Scout Thin Mints started to stick. 😦 Depressing because they’re SO GOOD!! Anyway, I’ll fully admit that I’m fairly weak when it comes to upper body and core strength. I’m also highly uncoordinated so I refuse to exercise in public. I won’t even workout in front of my Man. Silly, undoubtedly, but I’d rather wait until I look like Scarlett Johansson. 😉 Walk the Moon has that perfect blend of ’80s vibe and upbeat tracks to turn my saddlebag burning grimace into a goofing around smile. 🙂

2) Right Thurr by Chingy
A throwback to my short-lived hip-hop listening days, this is another one on my Exercise Playlist. The lyrics are meh but the beat is fun. I also just might pretend to be a supermodel with hordes of ogling guys in the background when this song comes on. Haha!

3) Sabotage by The Beastie Boys
This one got added after Day 5 of rain. Every tried living with a pent-up Husky for a week? Oh… My… GOD!!! I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy. It puts a whole new meaning to “in your face 24/7”. By the end, neither of us cared if we’d get soaked, we had to get OUT OF THE HOUSE!!

4) All My Friends are Heathens by 21 Pilots

I just might be the only one that has not seen ‘Suicide Squad’ yet. I wanted to, I really did, but I just never had the time. At any rate, this has been on constant rotate on my local radio station. 21 Pilots is a fave band and this one has quickly got me addicted! All I’ve git to say is this – Shotgun pump sounds. ❤

5) Cough Syrup by Young the Giant

Rain makes me introspective. I see where I am in life and how far I am from achieving my dreams. Nature clears my mind so I can plan my steps to that goal. But when I’m trapped inside? It’s like my brain goes on repeat and gets stuck in the ‘Identify the Problem’ phase. This one spoke to me those days.

“If I could find a way to see this straight, I’d run away to some fortune that I, I should have found by now.”

6) Yellow by Coldplay

It’s Coldplay. My go-to chill out band. Need I say more?

7) Our House by Madness
Saturday, my Dad flew in to visit. I was raised that your home is a reflection of who you are as a person. I was about 80% unpacked but the Guest Bedroom and Bathroom where on the back burner. We don’t use those rooms so why bother? The living room was more important, right? Didn’t matter that my motivation stalled. However, with Papa Bear on his way, I figured I better get it done. Insert Mad, Cleaning Frenzy!

8) Take Me Out to the Ball Game by Edward Meeker

As part of my weekend with Dad, we caught a Baseball game. I may or may not love that sport….. 😉 By the way, “This one belongs to the Reds!”

9) Blister in the Sun by Violent Femmes
This classic Alt anthem played at the game and that drum beat has been stuck in my head ever since. Darn you, Violent Femmes, for your awesome sound!

10) Madness by Muse

Madness. That’s what happened to me nearly 10 years ago. Wow! 10 years… For the girl that barely kept a guy around more than a few months? But this guy, my guy, he was like gravity every time we were near. I fought the pull for years. “Maybe I’m too headstrong.” As strong as my desire to run wild is, I still get sucked into his orbit. “Some kind of Madness is swallowing me whole.”


So that’s mine! What was on your playlist?

