Tags

, ,

Here, in the US, today is National Dog Day! It’s a day to celebrate our furry friends (not that I need a reason to talk about my dog-dren! 😉 ). I swear, I think I could gush for hours.

I don’t know what it’s like in other countries, but for most Americans, dogs are a beloved family member. Protector to companion, confidant to playmate, Man’s Best Friend. My two fuzzies are pictured above. We were exploring Havre de Grace, MD and I’m still amazed I could get them to sit still and look forward long enough for me to snap this picture.

Spartan, the Siberian Husky, is nearly 3 years old. We bought him off another family that didn’t realize what they were getting into with this headstrong and active breed. I wanted an Irish Wolfhound but my husband begged for his “dream dog” and I caved. Now I have this huge fluff ball that’s Velcro-ed to my side 24/7. So much for it being my husband’s dog.

The Miniature Schnauzer is my baby. Her name is Angel but I affectionately call her “Stink”; A moniker she earned when she wasn’t even 3 months old. Stink and I have been together longer than I’ve been with my husband. She’s my Original Roadie and arguably saved my life. I could easily dedicate a whole post just to her! She’ll be 13 this December.

Rotten doesn’t even begin to describe them both! Do you have any dogs? If so, share your stories and love for them in the comments section. 🙂

For more information, check out the website: http://www.NationalDogDay.com

